Skip to main content
Scholars' Bowl

About the Show

In it's 36th year, Scholars' Bowl brings the area's brightest and best high school students to a single-elimination competition of academic abilities.

Only one team can take home the Scholars' Bowl Championship trophy and cash prize, plus bragging rights for their school.

A longstanding tradition for high school students from around East Tennessee and Kentucky, Scholars' Bowl is an important part of the legacy of East Tennessee PBS.

The show is written & produced by etpbs Mathline's Ernie Roberts. Each season, the list of competitors grows, often including 60+ school teams participating. 

This year's edition of Scholars' Bowl is sponsored by Pellissippi State Community College and the Knoxville News Sentinel. 

The winning school receives $1000 and the "Frank Miller Memorial Trophy" in honor of the game's founder, with an additional cash prize for the team's coach. The second place team receives a prize of $500.

Host of the Show


Frank Murphy

Frank Murphy is a known radio personality, event host, improv comedian, and much loved community philanthropist. Frank has been host of Scholars' Bowl for four years.

Scholars' Bowl is Sponsored by...

If you'd like to sponsor Scholars' Bowl, please contact our Sponsorship team today!