Skip to main content
Filer image

Station Leadership

Filer image
Barbara Shipley
Chief Development & Marketing Officer

Board of Directors

As a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, East Tennessee PBS is governed by a board of committed volunteers: a 15-member Board of Trustees and eight-member Community Advisory Board.

East Tennessee PBS holds regular meetings which are open to members of our community. Per Corporation of Public Broadcasting guidelines, we broadcast announcements of these meetings on consecutive days, three times each day, during each calendar quarter. A portion of some meetings may be in closed session. For details of the closed meeting sessions please click here

Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are held at the East Tennessee PBS offices at:

East Tennessee PBS
1611 East Magnolia Avenue
Knoxville, Tennessee 37917

Board of Directors meetings:
Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of March, June, September and December, at 3 p.m.

Tennessee Public Television Council (TPTC)
The Tennessee Public Television Council meetings are held the first Tuesday of February, May, August and November at 11 p.m.

Community Advisory Board meetings:
Meetings are the second Wednesday of April, July, and October, at 11:30 a.m. at our Knoxville offices. Location is subject to change; please call the station at (865) 595-0220 to confirm or email:

East Tennessee PBS Board of Directors:

  • Mike Nichols, Chairman
  • Shirley Fox Rogers
  • Peter Alliman
  • Will Bunch
  • James Normand
  • Dr. Jody Goins
  • Judge Doug Overby
  • Dr. Cynthia Kang-Rotondo
  • William "Bear" Stephenson
  • Sylvia Woods
  • Deborah M. Shriver
  • James MacDonald
  • John Snodderly
  • Jennifer Galloway

Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board is to provide a vehicle for effective community input to the station's governing body about station programming, community service and impact on the community from the station's major policy decisions. The community advisory board assists the station in development of programs and policies that address the specific needs of the communities that they endeavor to serve. The board should be reasonably representative of the diverse needs and interests of the communities served by the station. The composition of the community advisory board must reflect its independent role, and may not include members of the station staff or governing body in anything other than an ex officio or administrative capacity.

The Community Advisory Board shall:
1. Establish and follow its own schedule and agenda, within the scope of the community advisory board's statutory or delegated authority;
2. Review the programming goals established by station;
3. Review the community service provided by the stations;
4. Review the impact on the community of the significant policy decisions rendered by the station; and
5. Advise the governing board of the station whether the programming and other significant policies of the station are meeting the specialized educational and cultural needs of the communities served by the station.

The advisory board may make recommendations to the governing board to meet those specialized needs.

East Tennessee PBS Community Advisory Board:

  • Rebecca Longmire, Chair
  • James Dee
  • Bob Davis
  • Randy Atkins
  • Mildred Summey
  • Wawana Walker
  • Hubert Smith

Contact Us

Become a Member & Membership Questions or (865) 595-0239

Planned Giving, Major Gifts, Bequests, (865) 595-0244

Production Inquiries, Studio Rentals, Production Services
Chris Smith

Corporate Sponsorships, Partnerships, and Underwriting: 
Barbara Shipley (865) 595-0244

Programming questions
Barbara Shipley (865) 595-0244

Signal, audio, and other technical issues
Master Control (865) 595-0225

President and CEO
Vickie Lawson (865) 595-0235

General inquiries (865) 595-0244